No Ice + No Cream = Ice Cream

I recently bought a friend a Yonanas machine (www.yonanas.com) and was pretty impressed that it actually worked pretty well. I’ve been thinking of getting one for myself but I would feel pretty guilty about the sixty something dollars it costs. Instead, I came upon this solution. I never knew that you could easily make ice cream out of bananas without an ice cream maker!

Image

Image

All you really need is bananas. I sliced up three and froze them overnight. Secondly, you’ll need a blender. Lets take a moment to appreciate the beauty of this machine, regardless of what century it’s from. I kid you not; it says it is the “Royal LaMachine I”. Not too sure why you would ever call a blender that, but it still works, so I’ll go with it. There are lots of things you can do flavor wise here. You could add in peanut butter, some cookies (cookies and cream, anyone?) or I think some Nutella may be quite good too. I went for some cinnamon, vanilla, and honey after watching a Brothers Green episode on Youtube.

Just put the bananas in the blender, add the cinnamon, honey, and vanilla (or whatever else you want to add), and blend away.

Image

Initially, it won’t look like much. Every 20-30 seconds, use a spatula to push the bananas down towards the blade. Eventually, it’ll become smooth and creamy. I made this at around 4 pm, so I put it into a container and froze it until after dinner. If you don’t have the time, you really don’t need to freeze it.

Image

And there you have it 🙂

Hope you guys are all enjoying the holiday season and we’ll see you soon!

– S

Recipe (from the Brothers Green on Youtube):

6 bananas, thinly sliced, frozen overnight
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup walnuts  (I didn’t include these and it was still delicious)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 thoughts on “No Ice + No Cream = Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

