Peanut Butter Cookies

This was one of those days where someone was coming over and we needed a dessert, yet I was feeling lazy (summer unemployment does that to you). So I watched TV all afternoon and then an hour before guests came, I finally got off the couch. I didn’t have the time or desire to make something all that fancy, so I decided on cookies. Now, I know cookies usually aren’t dinner party quality desserts, but they can be!

IMG_3868

I started with my usual peanut butter cookie recipe. I made six of them, in slightly small format. Then I tried to fancy them up. I’ve made thumbprint sugar cookies before and they came out pretty cute so I decided to make some peanut butter thumbprint cookies. Of course with my luck I only had like two teaspoons of jam in my fridge and that only filled three cookies. The other three, I filled with peanut butter since by this time my summer vacation mind just couldn’t deal. This wasn’t as terrible of an idea as you may think. The peanut butter worked just fine with the cookie. Image-3

Guests = impressed. Cookies at a dinner party = passable.

Enjoy!

–       S

Recipe (from Allrecipies)

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup white sugar

½ cup smooth peanut butter

½ cup margarine

1. Combine above ingredients.

2. Mix:

1 tsp baking soda to 2 tbsp hot water

3. Combine all above ingredients together.

4. Stir in:

2 eggs

2 ½ cups all purpose flour

5. Roll dough into balls. Place balls on ungreased cookie sheet.

6. Press with fork dipped in water to make criss cross.

7. For thumbprint cookies, make a well in the centre of the cookie with your thumb. Drop in jam or peanut butter.

8. Bake at 350F for 8-10 minutes, until bottom of cookie is golden brown.

Leave a Reply

